- Circular Economy

Enough recyclable material to make 70 Eiffel towers: this represents the resources we gain when recycling electrical appliances

The only way for recyclable material to find its way into the eRecycling cycle is for us to dispose of our old electrical appliances properly. And that’s extremely beneficial to the environment! How much iron, aluminium and even gold has been collected in the last 30 years?

A broken toaster, a defective lamp or a worn-out alarm clock: we will all own defective or worn-out electrical appliances at some point. To be precise, Swiss people collect around 16 kg of them per capita – every year. But what should we do with them? Don’t put them in the household waste! By doing so, you prevent reusable materials from your old appliance from being returned to the recycling system. To ensure that the raw materials can be used for eRecycling, it is important that you dispose of your discarded devices properly at a collection point. Even as an individual, you can make a big difference!

In Switzerland, 1.2 million tonnes of electrical appliances have been collected over the past 30 years. As a rule, as much as 70 percent of the materials contained in them are reusable. Among them are iron, aluminium, copper and even gold. If you add up the recyclable materials recovered over the past three decades, the figures are impressive. The total iron and steel amounts to over 708,000 tonnes – the equivalent of 70.8 Eiffel towers. During this period, Switzerland collected over 35 million kg of aluminium, which is equal to 2.34 million bicycles. The recovered copper would be enough for 40,288,000 trumpets, and the 161 kg of gold collected could be turned into 13 gold bars.

Do you want to save resources but are unsure about where and how to dispose of your electrical and electronic equipment properly? Thanks to the advance recycling fee, you can return them free of charge to specialist stores that stock similar products. It doesn’t matter whether or not you bought the appliance there, or if you plan to buy a new one in that particular shop. You can also dispose of your e-waste at a SENS collection point. You can find a list of collection points near you here.

- Circular Economy

Wertstoffe für 70 Eifeltürme: So viel Ressourcen gewinnen wir beim Recyceln von Elektrogeräten

Nur, wenn wir unsere alten Elektrogeräte fachgerecht entsorgen, gelangen deren Wertstoffe ins eRecycling. Und das lohnt sich für die Umwelt enorm! Wie viel Eisen, Aluminium und sogar Gold in den letzten 30 Jahren zusammengekommen sind.

Der kaputte Toaster, die defekte Lampe oder der ausgediente Wecker: Wir alle besitzen früher oder später defekte oder ausgediente Elektrogeräte. Um genau zu sein, sammeln Schweizer*innen pro Kopf rund 16 kg davon – und das jedes Jahr. Nur wohin damit? Bloss nicht in den Hausmüll! Du verhinderst damit, dass wiederverwendbare Materialien deines alten Geräts zurück in den Wertstoffkreislauf kommen. Damit die Rohstoffe für das eRecycling genutzt werden können, ist es wichtig, dass du deine ausrangierten Geräte fachgerecht bei einer Sammelstelle entsorgst. Damit bewirkst du auch als Einzelperson richtig viel!

So kamen in der Schweiz in den letzten 30 Jahren 1,2 Mio. Tonnen Elektrogeräte zusammen. In der Regel sind ganze 70 Prozent der darin enthaltenen Materialien wiederverwendbar. Darunter befinden sich Eisen, Aluminium, Kupfer und sogar Gold. Rechnet man die zurückgewonnen Wertstoffe der vergangenen drei Jahrzehnte zusammen entstehen eindrückliche Zahlen. So kommt man beim Eisen und Stahl insgesamt auf über 708’000 Tonnen – Das entspricht 70,8 Eifeltürmen. Aluminium sammelte die Schweiz über 35 Mio. kg Umgerechnet sind das 2,34 Mio. Velos. Das zurückgewonnen Kupfer würde für 40’288’000 Trompeten reichen und die 161 kg Gold immerhin für 13 Goldbarren.

Du willst Ressourcen sparen aber bist dir unsicher, wo und wie du deine elektrischen und elektronischen Geräte fachgerecht entsorgen kannst? Dank der vorgezogenen Recyclinggebühr (vRG) kannst du sie kostenlos in Fachgeschäften abgeben, die ähnliche Produkte im Sortiment führen. Dabei kommt es nicht darauf an, ob du das Gerät dort gekauft hast oder vorhast, in diesem Laden ein neues zu kaufen. Zudem kannst du deinen Elektroschrott bei einer Sammelstelle der SENS entsorgen. Wo sich eine Stelle in deiner Nähe befinden, erfährst du hier.