- SENS

Executive changes at SENS eRecycling: Dirk Hoffmann to replace Andreas Röthlisberger as president of the Board of Trustees from late-April 2021.

Andreas Röthlisberger, the founder of SENS eRecycling and the president of its Board of Trustees for over 30 years, is handing over the Foundation’s managerial reins to Dirk Hoffmann. With his many years of international experience and his passion for sustainability, Dirk Hoffmann will continue to develop the pioneering work done by SENS and guide it into the future.

It all began with a vision
More than 30 years ago now, Andreas Röthlisberger developed his vision of a circular economy, and to this end set up the SENS Foundation (formerly Stiftung Entsorgung Schweiz) with a small group of like-minded people in 1990. Many years before the term had become common within the European electrical and electronic appliances market, Andreas Röthlisberger was able to convince Switzerland-based manufacturers, importers and retailers to assume “producer responsibility” and establish a joint disposal solution financed through voluntary funding. “Increased producer responsibility is the foundation of any circular economy. SENS and its partners have thereby implemented a vision and played a pioneering role,” states Röthlisberger.

A SENS(ational) 30 years – the shape of the future
Even after 30 years, Andreas Röthlisberger’s enthusiasm for his life’s work is unwavering. “SENS eRecycling extends far beyond Switzerland’s borders. As a co-founder of the WEEE (waste electrical and electronic equipment) Forum and the founder of WEEE Europe, our Foundation leads the way in Europe in terms of waste disposal and the circular economy,” Röthlisberger opines. In his eyes, handing over the presidency is by no means an ending, but rather a sign of the Foundation’s evolution within a dynamic market continually faced with new challenges. “Dirk Hoffmann is a man of action who likes people and believes in visions – with his experience and passion for the industry and sustainability, he is just the right person for us and our partners,” Röthlisberger says of his successor. The appointment of Dirk Hoffmann to the presidency of the SENS Board of Trustees marks the continued pursuit of mandatory participation with an exemption option and ensures continuity in the management of the Foundation. Andreas Röthlisberger will continue to support SENS eRecycling as a consultant and as its founder. He will also remain president of the Fair Recycling Foundation, which works to protect the climate and environment and which was set up in 2008 as a spin-off of the SENS Foundation.

Some facts on Dirk Hoffmann it makes SENS to be aware of
Dirk Hoffmann has lived on virtually every continent and his wealth of experience spans the globe. This passionate hiker came to Switzerland seven years ago in part because of its mountains – however, it was the sustainability strategy of V-ZUG that really attracted him. He managed the company for six years as its CEO and currently supports it as Head of Strategic Projects at Metall Zug AG. At the same time, he serves as a member and president of several administrative boards, assuming responsibility for selected divisions within the Metall Zug Group. His commitments in the sphere of sustainability are many and varied, and include the Innovation Park Central Switzerland, with a particular focus on the circular economy as well as on social and ecological effects. “Sustainability is my passion. Who other than SENS makes so substantial a contribution to the circular economy?,” Hoffmann comments on his new role.

Dirk Hoffmann is a qualified electrical engineer – his interest lies in tricky challenges within the manufacturing industry and the sustainable use of precious resources. He has been assisting SENS as a member of the Board of Trustees for three years now, and will assume the presidency in April. He will succeed the current president with a sense of respect and a thirst for action as he looks towards the future: “My task will be to preserve the strengths of the voluntary systems achieved to date and to innovatively expand upon these for the benefit of society, the environment and the economy. SENS is already a functioning ecosystem that transcends industry boundaries and is actively engaged in, and promotes collaborations with, a great variety of system participants. I see big opportunities in the intensity of these collaborations and wish to ensure that SENS and our partners are even stronger as we enter the next 10 years.”

- SENS

Changements à la tête de SENS eRecycling: Dirk Hoffmann prendra fin avril 2021 la relève d’Andreas Röthlisberger en tant que président du conseil de fondation.

Andreas Röthlisberger, fondateur et président du Conseil de fondation de SENS eRecycling pendant plus de 30 ans, remet la direction de la fondation à Dirk Hoffmann. Fort de ses nombreuses années d’expérience au niveau international et de sa passion pour la durabilité, Dirk Hoffmann prolongera le travail de pionnier de SENS et le fera progresser vers l’avenir.

Une vision comme point de départ
Andreas Röthlisberger a imaginé, il y a plus de 30 ans déjà, une économie circulaire et créé en 1990 dans cette optique la Fondation SENS (auparavant dénommée Stiftung Entsorgung Schweiz) avec un petit groupe de personnes partageant ses idées. Bien des années avant que la notion de «Producer Responsibility» ne s’impose en Europe sur le marché des appareils électriques et électroniques, Andreas Röthlisberger a su convaincre les fabricants, les importateurs et les commerçants suisses d’assumer leur «responsabilité du fabricant» et de financer volontairement une solution de collecte. «Toute économie circulaire a pour fondement la responsabilité élargie des producteurs. La Fondation SENS et ses partenaires ont ainsi concrétisé leur vision et réalisé un travail de pionnier», déclare Röthlisberger.

30 ans SENS(ationnels) – et ça continue
Même au bout de 30 années, Andreas Röthlisberger affiche toujours une passion aussi vive pour l’œuvre de sa vie. «SENS eRecycling va bien au-delà des frontières nationales. En tant que cofondatrice du WEEE Forum (Forum for Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment) et fondatrice de WEEE Europe, la fondation montre la voie à suivre dans toute l’Europe en matière d’élimination des déchets et d’économie circulaire», précise-t-il. Pour lui, le transfert de la présidence n’est en aucun cas un point final. Il marque bien au contraire l’évolution de la fondation sur un marché dynamique où de nouveaux défis apparaissent sans cesse. «Dirk Hoffmann est un propulseur qui aiment les gens et croit en ses idées. Avec son expérience et sa passion pour l’industrie et la durabilité, il est la personne idéale pour nous et nos partenaires», ajoute Röthlisberger à propos de son successeur. Avec la nomination de Dirk Hoffmann à la fonction de président du Conseil de fondation de SENS, l’engagement dans la voie d’une obligation avec possibilité d’exemption sera poursuivie et la continuité de la direction sera garantie. Andreas Röthlisberger continuera d’accompagner le futur de SENS eRecycling en tant que conseiller et père fondateur. Il reste par ailleurs président de la Fondation Fair Recycling, fondée en 2008 comme spin-off de SENS et engagée en faveur de la protection du climat et de l’environnement.

À propos de Dirk Hoffmann
Dirk Hoffmann a presque déjà vécu sur tous les continents et sa riche expérience s’étend sur l’ensemble de la planète. Si le passionné de randonnées est venu en Suisse il y a sept ans aussi pour ses montagnes, c’est avant tout la stratégie de durabilité de V-Zug qui l’a convaincu. Il a dirigé cette entreprise durant six années en tant que CEO et l’accompagne aujourd’hui encore comme Head of Strategic Projects de Metall Zug SA. En parallèle, il assume la responsabilité d’un certain nombre de divisions du groupe Metall Zug en tant que membre ou président de conseils d’administration. Il est engagé à plusieurs égards pour la durabilité et le Parc d’innovation Suisse centrale, avec une attention toute particulière pour l’économie circulaire ainsi que les répercussions sociales et écologiques. «La durabilité, c’est ma passion. Qui d’autre que SENS peut apporter une contribution majeure à l’économie circulaire?», précise Hoffmann concernant son nouveau mandat.

Dirk Hoffmann est ingénieur diplômé en électronique. Il aime relever les défis délicats liés à l’industrie manufacturière et à la gestion durable des ressources précieuses. Il accompagne la Fondation SENS depuis trois ans en tant que membre du Conseil de fondation et deviendra le président de celui-ci en avril. Il s’apprête à assurer la succession avec respect et entrain pour l’avenir: «Ma mission consistera à préserver les points forts que le système volontaire a pu acquérir, et à poursuivre la stratégie d’innovation pour le bien de la société, de l’environnement et de l’économie. La Fondation SENS est déjà un écosystème qui fonctionne parfaitement, qui touche tous les secteurs, et qui applique et la coopération avec les entreprises participant au système les plus diverses. L’intensité de cette coopération recèle à mes yeux les opportunités les plus grandes et je veux faire en sorte que la présence de la Fondation SENS et de ses partenaires soient encore renforcée au cours des dix prochaines années.»